Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I know....an obtuse comparison of two wonderful but very different motorcycles. Let me state my case before you all lean to the side of the Bonny faithful right off the bat. I really need the advice from those that perhaps own both a big sport touring bike and a Bonny. Therein may be my ultimate dilemma because no bike is all things and perhaps the only way to scratch my itch would be to purchase both.

Some brief background... I have been bikeless for the last five months or so having sold my cruiser in anticipation of the economy in Michigan collapsing around the auto industry which it has. I am an engineer and have sought refuge in Indiana in an unrelated industry but still doing what I was born to do...product development. I fit the dem of a guy who appreciates a Bonny for its pure and unpretentious art form...yes I am smitten as all of you are for many reasons that mostly only we understand having owned many motorbikes and coming back to our roots so to speak. I can't sell my home of course in Michigan competing with all the foreclosures and therefore a romantic notion I have in the spring is on clear weekends ride my motorcycle home to visit friends and family...about 340 miles one way. I don't know how many here have looked into big sport touring motorcycles but they have an allure in their own right. Top of my list is the new Connie. The thing is about perfect for me...upright ergos with mid controls...lots of wind protection...ABS....stonking motor...shaft drive for negligible maitenance and that intangible....the bike doesn't look liking a rolling lounger...more like an overgrown sport bike. BTW, it handles like a fat man that can dance as well albeit slow speed handling is a handful as you would expect for a 600 lb behemoth.