Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First, I recognize that this is the kind of post that might put some folks off because:
  1. There are ways to check for major issues, including during routine maintenance (eg flakes in the oil)
  2. Opening up the bike is a good opportunity to learn more about it
  3. The sound in videos is going to be vastly different from actually walking around the bike.
  4. It provides a venue to provide no detail on other symptoms- "Hey y'all, this sound broke?". Leading to number 5
  5. More specific questions can be asked about particular symptoms other than solely the sound in a video.
With those knowns and guidelines, is there value in having a place to post such? Has this been addressed previously? I ask this as a novice myself, and I know a lot of folks, particularly when buying an old bike wonder if what they're hearing when they meet up with a seller (or after) has any big red flags. My single (TR25W) has some sounds that I'd question on newer bikes, but every video I've seen of them they have the same quirks. I also recognize that a single is going to generally not be as smooth running as a double or triple. Thanks for your thoughts, and I'll post some details and video on mine if this isn't too inflammatory.

EDIT:
Link to video: IMG_3613.MOV
It starts on the first kick, and I'm not having any issues with it. I need to check the valve clearances shortly, but it seems like all of these tick quite a bit. I did notice the plug was loose immediately shooting this, but it was not rattling. I don't pick up any off sounds low in the engine- all the rattling is up top. As mentioned previously, it looks to sound pretty similar to the other bikes I've seen on the web.

EDIT EDIT:
I can say easily that this is the most friendly and helpful forum I've been a part of. Thanks!

·
Registered
7,384 Posts