Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have new a new exhaust I want to install. But I have been told I need to rejet my bike. Is there a step by step how to someplace I could get a hold of to guide me through this.

I am not an experienced mechanic but I am a quick learner.

-rizzo

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you for the links...

....this looks like a pain. I don't like working on bikes but I can't stand the sound of my bonneville. the new pipes were a must and don't look hard to put on but this whole re-jet thing looks like a pain. I just want to ride not take the whole thing apart. I am sure I can do it with time ... it will just be a hassle. The small time I have on the week ends for fun should be spent riding not play joe mechanic.

The triumph dealer wants an arm, leg, and my first born child to even look at my bike so I'll do it myself. I am to cheep to pay someone.

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
It is really rather simple - just be sure you have the right tools. If you try to "make do' with some stuff, problems may ensue. Buy a package of allen head carburetor screws from one of the vendors before so you can replace the phillips head screws - easier to deal with the allen heads.
Maybe buy a Haynes manual too, if you do not have one. Good investment.

·
Registered
716 Posts
float bowls only

To keep it simple in my opinion
you really only need to change the main jets...
125 mains if only doing slipon exhausts.
get a small ratchet with I believe a 6mm socket
that will hold a small phillips head bit
and remove the 4 phillips head screws
on the bottom of the carb float bowls using
upward pressure to avoid stripping the small screws...
the left carb rear screw will be a bit difficult due to tight fit
and the tubes in the way but you can do it...