Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't have the luxury of a garage and I see by the forecast that the coming few days will have some gusty winds.

I normally leave my bike on the driveway with a cover over it on its side stand, but I've always been curious as to is it better to put it on its center stand when its windy or does it not really matter?

·
Registered
54 Posts
I'm no expert but....

I'd try to get it close to the building too.[/QUOTE]

+1 I too leave my bike covered outside and have had many bad stormy winds. I never actally noticed a difference in either center or side stand being better than the other.

I'd THINK the side stand, only because you have 3 heavy points of contact with the ground spread out evenly over the whole length rather than having most of the mass secured only in the tail end.

IMHO keep your cover tight and buckled, less it becomes a parachute.

Aaron

·
Registered
1,756 Posts
My guess would be the side stand is safer because on the centerstand, the only pivot point in either direction is the one little peg of the stand. Think pole-vaulting. Plus it is already higher up and the back wheel is off the ground.

Leaned over on the sidestand, I think it would be harder for wind to either, lift it up, or push it over with the stand already digging in.

·
Registered
854 Posts
The cover may make it more likely to be blown over.

The side stand will be more secure - unless the wind is blowing onto the left (n/s) side strongly enough to blow it over. Happened to my Honda Firestorm and to my Aprilia Falco :mad:

I'd stick with the centre stand..

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'll leave it so the right side is facing the wind, so its blow onto the stand, if that makes send, using the energy from the wind to push down on the stand, yes I'm going to use the side stand.