Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I have a 2009 Speedmaster and am looking at removing the tach (as it is starting to fail) and replace it with the cover that usually comes with the America.
Furthermore, I wanted to remove the idiot lights from their housing and use the holes to add switches to operate (aux lights, garage opener, etc)
That being said, I was hoping to see if the instrument clusters from a Bonneville or Thruxton will work on the Speedmaster as long as I have appropriate mounting systems/brackets.
Has anyone made a conversion like this?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,717 Posts
If you have a mechanical speedo driven by a cable to the front wheel then any mechanical speedo from a Bonneville will work Haven't a clue if you have an electronic speedo. As for the tach, ditto, plus Bonnevilles have a different firing order so that may affect things. FYI Scramblers have the same firing order as your Speedy.

·
Registered
1,938 Posts
How can another 2 cylinder motor have a different firing order?

:dunno Is it 1-2 or 2-1? :dunno

·
Registered
1,938 Posts
(It was kind of tongue-in-cheek)
But the firing order is still 1-2

·
Registered
1,717 Posts
(It was kind of tongue-in-cheek)
But the firing order is still 1-2
I thought it was 2-1, 2, 1-2, 1, 2 but then I used to be a roadie back in the 70's. (Also tongue in cheek, life is too short otherwise)
When I bought the mini tach to go in my headlamp bucket it seemed the ones for V twins were different to other twins, but I needed a V twin one because of the "firing order". Best part of 10 years ago and my brain is a bit foggy these days so don't take it as gospel.
There's probably somebody on one of these forums that has put T100 or Thruxton gauges on a Scrambler so if they work properly that would answer the question.

·
Registered
2 Posts