Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
929 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
guys what do you have? please share why do you like your helmet or dislike it.

I bought the Icon Hooligan mainframe when I started riding street 3 yrs ago...
a budget helmet and I just needed to get something to get me started. yes, I know you get what you pay for. :rolleyes:

that said: I absolutely despised the helmet from a month or 2 of owning it.
It retailed for $375ca when I bought mine I think I paid around $275 since I bought a bike from the same place. you can land one now for about $120 usd. I recommend you flip it upside down bury it and plant a flower in it.:p

cons: It's torn along the neck, both the vents broke; so now it fogs up. (btw, they broke almost immediately) the liner doesn't come out for washing so I have to dunk it to wash it.

pros: got lots of compliments by non riders (nobody cares lol)
dot and snell approved. easy to remove the shield.

what am I looking for:

pull out washable liner.
a nice silver (sun/heat reflecting) color to match my sprint
good vents and over all quality.
quiet as I dont use earplugs.
decent pricing. but I will $$ buck up and shutup this time. ;)

what have I looked at:

Scorpion EXO-700, EXO 1000
HJC carbon fiber ( they flake badly on a mild drop because clear coating CF is not a great thing) so this is most likely out. + big ugly sticker is under the clear coat)

Looking at Shark's now but they seem weirdly shaped.
also looking at Arai and Shoei.
I will most likely will replace the next one in 3yrs too.

·
Registered
145 Posts
I ride with a Arai Profile and before that an Arai Signet GT before that an array of HJCs and a Bell. The choice for me was fitment, then comfort, airflow, quietness.
I have a "long oval" shaped head and the Profile (signet previously) is a perfect fit.
Since it fits so well, it is automatically comfortable to me. Arai also uses very nice materials in the liner.