Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
745 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I spotted cracked intake boots on a 2 yo bike and grumbled because my experience has been longer rubber life expectation in the past, so my reaction was to eliminate the offending weak link like so many others have done with those reported jubilant performance results.

so I took the air box out and opened it up out of curiosity before fabbing up the replacement parts...the more I studied it the more I come to appreciate what the design is.

I like the battery box, I like the utilization of the space, I like the wire chase on the frame spine, and I especially like the way they handle the breather huff and puff as well as the oil migration. the breather is wide open into a volume and uses the entire air filter as a breather element minus what the engine sucks. the drain tube is a sight glass to alert as to service attention needs.

eliminating the air box means a breather filter...that oil is going to migrate, so I had visions of a breather filter getting contaminated with oil within the first 5 miles, higher crankcase pressures, and breather efficiency compromised as the new norm.

I also saw the restrictor plate cross section is about equal to the air filter inlet cross section, so the stock filter inlet ID is what determines air volume...ahead of that is the snorkle that is the real restriction meter.

the purpose of the box is to scrub the intake air so grit doesn't score the cylinders and crap doesn't wedge under the valve seats...and then there's water. since I'm in SW Pa. conditions are not always perfect...I tend to be out early in the spring, late into the fall, and find iffy conditions in between...we don't get thin clean desert air here...we get mud, water, and salt on the roads, so the priority is similar to dirt bike requirements a certain part of the year.