Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Still trying to remove my carburetors to clean them and do not know how I should disconnect these tubes. Should I pull off the rubber tube portion or unscrew it from the carburetor itself? This is my first time trying to take off the carbs.

Thanks

RJ

·
Registered
10,779 Posts
Those are your throttle cables. Loosen the nuts, free the cable ends, and remove them. You might have to loosen or disconnect them at the other end to make it easier, because you'll need some slack to free the ends from the carburetor assembly. Pay attention to how it all fits together, maybe take some pictures if you're not sure of it, because it all has to go back the same way.

You'll have to spend some time adjusting and checking them when you put it back together. It's a bit tedious. Use some penetrating oil on those corroded threads.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Those are your throttle cables. Loosen the nuts, free the cable ends, and remove them. You might have to loosen or disconnect them at the other end to make it easier, because you'll need some slack to free the ends from the carburetor assembly. Pay attention to how it all fits together, maybe take some pictures if you're not sure of it, because it all has to go back the same way.

You'll have to spend some time adjusting and checking them when you put it back together. It's a bit tedious. Use some penetrating oil on those corroded threads.
Thanks Marty,