Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
*Disclaimer: I am not a professional mechanic. All torque settings are from the Haynes Service & Repair Manual.

This tutorial is for installing the Progressive Suspension progressive fork springs on a 2003 T100. The springs for this application can be found here: part #: 11-1126.

Parts:
Progressive Suspension fork spring kit #11-1126
Fork oil of your choice. I used 15wt.
1" Sch 40 PVC pipe

Tools:
10mm socket
12mm socket
22mm socket
24mm socket
6mm allen socket
8mm allen socket
breaker bar
ratchet wrench
torque wrench
Phillips or JIS screwdriver
adjustable wrench
miter saw
sand paper
rags
graduated cylinder or beaker
large syringe
tubing
ruler
floor jack
center stand/track stand
3 bricks
1 2x4

Step 1: Secure the Motorcycle

Start by placing the motorcycle on the center-stand or track stand. Then jack up the front wheel, and place the three bricks underneath the frame rails with the 2x4 going on last against the frame so as not to mar the paint.

Give it a shake to make sure everything is secure.

Step 2: Remove the Front Wheel and Fender

Use the 24mm wrench to loosen the front axle nut. Then use the 6mm allen socket to loosen the pinch nut. Finally, use the JIS or phillips screwdriver to remove the retainer screw for the speedometer drive. Slide the axle out of the wheel taking care not to misplace the washer underneath the axle nut.

Set wheel and speedometer drive assembly aside.

Remove the four 10mm dome-shaped bolts that fasten the fender stays. Then, remove the four 12mm bolts that fasten the fender brace. Don't lose the bolts.

Step 3: Remove the Fork Leg

Step 3 will be repeated for each leg, but it is strongly recommended to only do one leg at a time so that the headlight ears and gauges are secured and do not fall loose.

Start by cutting away any zip-ties that may be securing the fork gaiters.