Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen a related post on a new guy getting his bike and the battery being a little duff, and it got me thinking.

I'm new to biking and as a result, when it comes to batteries, spoiled. You can leave your car for months and get back in and it starts up no problem.

The day after I got my Honda 125 I went to a friends and left it standing with the light on for 20 mins and when I went back to it it wa s dead, so had to push start it and all was well.

So I now have a 955 Sprint which has a new battery fitted to it as it was left standing for months. What I want to know is, whats all this talk about battery chargers? Do I really need one ?

If I decide to go away for a couple of weeks am I going to come back to a dead battery, baring in mind it's got a factory fit alarm (s3)?

Any hints and tips on what yo should do and, more important, the big don'ts of batteries?

·
Premium Member
591 Posts
Having an Optimate (one type of battery conditioner) is a good way forward. Since the idea of them is not to specifically 'charge' your battery, but to trickle feed it to ensure it is at its optimum ready for you to take out.

I keep my new ('08) bike on one, because as the temp drops, you can occasionally have your battery drop too. But it is just good care really.

They don't take much charge either, so it isn't costing you $ a night - maybe a few cents at most.:)

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So every night you park up in the garage , take the seat off, and plug it in?

I'm one of those unlucky enough to have to leave the bike on the driveway, no garage. I use the bike almost every day, though I know when the weather turns really nasty I'll have to use the train more often.