Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
2018 Bonneville T120, Red/Silver
1,306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I apologize for yet another tire thread, but I'm a bit of a newbie so here goes...

I bought a used 2007 Bonnie (spoke wheels) a few years ago. The original owner had just put on a 130/90-17 Shinko-10 tubeless-tire on the rear, and left me a new Shinko-10 100/90-19 for the front which I put on last year. The rear needs replacing now. I note that the stock tire for a 2007 is a 130/80-R17 tubed-tire.

1) If I replace the rear with a 130/80 instead of the 130/90 that's there now, how will it affect my ride? I'm just wondering why he went up a size, and if it really matters other than looks.

2) If I put on the Triumph-recommended Bridgestone or Metzler, will it matter that I have a (fairly new) Shinko on the front? I.e., is it recommended to keep front and rear tires the same style/brand?

The Shinko's are tubeless tires, and I have to say that when I replaced the front tire it was a bitch getting the last tire off the rim (also a tubeless). So since I'm planning on changing the tires myself, I was thinking to go with a tubed-tire just to make the job easier... So:

3) Is it true that a tire designed for tubes (and designated as such) will be easier to put on/ take off -- i.e., easier to break the bead?

4) And will I notice any difference in handling with a tubed tire on the rear versus a tubeless tire?

Thanks for any answers to my dumb questions...

-Dan

·
Registered
6,142 Posts
WOW.

If you have spokes on stock rims, you already HAVE tubes. BTW, most tubeless motorcycle tires can be run with tubes.