Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm toying with an '02 Salvage S3. Supposedly it's all fixed, restored, etc, nothing wrong with it. I'm a pessimist so I would assume that once I buy it I'll find all kinds of problems.

It's front end damage.. and being a bike noob I could assume it's bent forks, bent frame, damaged brake components, wheel, etc. Maybe radiator, etc.

Assuming all that was repaired there could still be nagging problems (maybe a fork was slightly bent but not replaced, etc) these are the things I think about.

How much in unfixed but still problematic damage could there be? A grand? More? I know this is pure speculation.

It has a single headlight and some funky cowl on the front that I'd be pulling (who could murder the awesome dual headlight S3 look?!) and painting the bike over in black (and while it is apart probably paint the frame as well).

If I get the bike repainted, how do I get OEM decals? Do dealers sell them?

·
Super Moderator
22,194 Posts
On 2007-03-02 00:23, whodkne wrote:
..... how do I get OEM decals? Do dealers sell them ......
Here's the parts fiche for the bike you're looking at - there is indeed a section for decals. You can use BikeBandit or your local dealer to purchase - prices are similar, BB has no great discount scheme. So you will also get a good idea on the cost of parts you need.
Note that the BB part numbers are their own proprietary numbering scheme - you cannot take that number to the dealer.
However it is a usful source of reference.

As to Salvage, it's impossible to generalize - some can be as good (or possibly even better) than comparable years because of new parts; others could be hiding unknown sins. You just have to do the research & use best judgement by yourself & others of knowledge (i.e. experts).