Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I doubt this will be read by anyone at Triumph UK much less responded to.

I like Triumphs. Although I have no experience of, or desire to own, Triumphs from the Meriden era I like the history of the company. John Bloor's acquisition and subsequent successful relaunch of the brand is inspiring, noble and a brilliant story. It shows that countries like Britain can still compete with the best in the world in the area of complex manufacturing. So it is with considerable sadness that I read of their plans to relinquish the final production capability of the Hinckley plants and have all manufacturing take place at their plants in Thailand. Yes, I know they will keep the TFC lines in the UK but bolting on a few carbon parts and an Arrow exhaust while adding some unique pinstriping to bikes made elsewhere is not manufacturing.

Motorcycles have been a huge part of my life. They've made me friends all over the world, they've taken me to places all over the world, they've been a sport, a hobby, a passion, a teacher, a leisure pursuit, a means of transport and a prop when life turns to sh!t and you get sad. And it does and you will.