Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've justed fitted a set on TOR pipes to my 09 RIII and whilst they have improved the overall engine tone, I was looking to lose the CAT and replace it with a by-pass pipe assy (A9600160).

I'm not looking for a full-on Harley slash pipe sound, but would like a bit more growl especially in the lower rev range. Can somebody let me know of their experience of fitting a by-pass with the TOR pipes?

Are there any examples on Utube ?

I'm assuming that I don't have to have a second re-map of the ECU after fitting a by-pass pipe (I've already had one for the TORs)?

Cheers
Steve

·
Registered
146 Posts
Steve,

Just did the cat bypass/Tor thing a couple of weeks ago. Very easy and believe me, I'm no mechanic. I did get the Tor download which seemed to cause even more decel popping than without it.($45)
I do like the sound. Never tried it with just the Tors so I couldn't comment on the difference, but she sounds pretty nice - and I think fairly loud.
If you take a look at the bypass, I think you will see how easy it is. I just made sure I disconnected the battery, replaced the gasket on the cat side.

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks HIM,

Did you do the ECM re-mapp yourself (you mention $ 45) or was the charge from the dealership to do it?

cheers
Steve

·
Registered
2,067 Posts
Now that you have the TORs, you have to get the bypass. It sounds great. Remapping should be free. It takes 5 minutes. However, all of the stock tunes have power restriction so you need to get Tuneboy ($350) to download a map with full power.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Dealership did it Steve, but I would like to go with a Tuneboy at some point. Sounds like something I could have a lot of fun screwing up.

·
Registered
0 Posts
What do these cat by-pass units look like?