Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The previous owner of the bike lowered it about an inch. which makes it useless.

I'm fine with the forks, but cant figure out the rear spring. Right now the collar/lock are set at the very top with no threads showing. I have read it should have 4 threads visible above the lock collar.

Would this not lower the bike even more?
Also, which direction should I turn the lock collar to loosen it? I've went counter clockwise and got it loose, but then tightened up again, then tried to opposite and same thing. So im not hitting hard enough in one direction, which one?

Sorry, i'm not a complete newbie.

Any help would be great as i would like to get this done in time to go riding tonight.

A picture of what I should be looking at in the end would be most helpful.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Hi XavierV,

I'm not sure I can help you but others may be able to help if you let them know what year your Speed Triple is and if it has the stock shock or an aftermarket, etc.

G.

·
Registered
359 Posts
The previous owner of the bike lowered it about an inch. which makes it useless.

I'm fine with the forks, but cant figure out the rear spring. Right now the collar/lock are set at the very top with no threads showing. I have read it should have 4 threads visible above the lock collar.

Would this not lower the bike even more?
Also, which direction should I turn the lock collar to loosen it? I've went counter clockwise and got it loose, but then tightened up again, then tried to opposite and same thing. So im not hitting hard enough in one direction, which one?

Sorry, i'm not a complete newbie.

Any help would be great as i would like to get this done in time to go riding tonight.

A picture of what I should be looking at in the end would be most helpful.