Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2000 Tiger 885i
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

As the title suggests, I'm new to Triumphs.

I spotted a nice Tiger 885i, and decided to take the plunge, and buy it as a plaything when I'm in the UK.
(I live abroad, and my usual steed is a KTM 950SM for Madeiras tight twisty roads and short journeys.).

Went to use it 14 days ago - dammit, the fuel pump died!.
Now fixed, and running.
I've never ridden a Tiger before, I have to admit, my first impressions are that it felt surprisingly familiar and comfortable..
Easy to ride, smooth torquey engine, nice handling - very nice.
Very happy with it - I think it will be ideal for the longer journeys in the UK (compared to my usual ride - the KTM)
And engines with odd numbers of cylinders do make nice noises - like the triumph triple and Land Rover TD5...

Very happy new owner.

Tire Wheel Fuel tank Vehicle Automotive lighting

I haven't put the panels back on - this was the bike just after the test ride.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Hello,

As the title suggests, I'm new to Triumphs.

I spotted a nice Tiger 885i, and decided to take the plunge, and buy it as a plaything when I'm in the UK.
(I live abroad, and my usual steed is a KTM 950SM for Madeiras tight twisty roads and short journeys.).

Went to use it 14 days ago - dammit, the fuel pump died!.
Now fixed, and running.
I've never ridden a Tiger before, I have to admit, my first impressions are that it felt surprisingly familiar and comfortable..
Easy to ride, smooth torquey engine, nice handling - very nice.
Very happy with it - I think it will be ideal for the longer journeys in the UK (compared to my usual ride - the KTM)
And engines with odd numbers of cylinders do make nice noises - like the triumph triple and Land Rover TD5...

Very happy new owner.

View attachment 784325

I haven't put the panels back on - this was the bike just after the test ride.