Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I bought my first motorcycle today. I saw the Triumph Thruxton, and it was love at first sight!

So today I bought a 2011 black Triumph Thruxton. I know very little about the bike, or about Thruxtons in general, or about how to insure it, about what kind of protection / gear I should get, or even how to store the bike. I have a LOT to learn.

Welcome any and all tips and suggestions for a total newbie, who is hoping to learn from everyone's experiences and tips. In particular, any advice from anyone that lives in Mahattan would be GREATLY appreciated!

Cheers!

Monkeyninja

·
Premium Member
888 Posts
Welcome and congrats on the new ride! I'm in manhattan as well. My advice is to invest in a quality cover, and depending on where you love a very solid lock. Be wary of cabbies and always wear gear.

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Simplyj!

- Do you have any suggestions re: type / brand of lock that I should buy?

- I live in Greenwich Village, but am planning on parking in a garage - any suggestions?

- Do you ride with full gear, or do you think I could get away with an open-face helmet / Jeans? I am not looking forward to NYC traffic, so don't want to take any risks!

THANKS!

·
Premium Member
888 Posts
Several friends have use Ryder's alley with varying degrees of satisfaction.

Around the city I generally wear jeans, leather jacket and gloves and a 3/4 face helmet. I also wear motorcycle sneaker/boots. After a run in with a cab on 6th ave last year where my leather jacket and gloves definitely saved my skin I never go out without them.