Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
763 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How well do the electrical systems on the Triumph Twins support heated clothing and grips?

It's chilly here, but no snow on the ground yet. I'm still riding, but getting a little uncomfortable on longer rides due to the temps... I'd like to extend my riding season and believe heated gear & grips will help.

Does the Triumph electrical system pump out enough juice to cover the additional draw? What plug-in adapter is recommended?

How about gear? I've never had any heated riding gear and don't know beans about it. Who makes good stuff?

Thanks, Guy

·
Premium Member
5,585 Posts
I'm no expert but I've just had heated grips installed on my Bonnie; she copes beautifully and I no longer suffer from "oh my god, my hands are sooo cold!"

·
Registered
40 Posts
Ditto M700R

This fall I installed heated grips, and combined with the GPS I run I haven't had any trouble keeping the battery charged.

The auxiliary circuit fuse that comes in your bike already is a 10A fuse, so you're good for at least that much. The GPS draws less than 2A and both grips combined draw less than 5A.

Here's a good place to start if you're going to wire them up yourself, though I used a Blue Sea fuse block instead of a distribution block.

I really enjoyed that wiring & install project, so I hope this might help!

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
While I have not yet given in to electric heating devices, several of my friends have and they say they should have done it long ago. They are reasonably priced and are reliable.

·
Registered
1,733 Posts