Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Every since I started riding (back in 2018) I have noticed a curious, but very welcome, phenomenon; other bikers giving you a nod of the head as you pass by each other going in opposite directions. I live in London and have noticed that most bikers won't do the head nod (but some will). However, those who choose to ride scooters NEVER nod, unless it's to another scooter rider.

Whenever I have left London and am out in the countryside, the head nod becomes almost ubiquitous and I love it. Just wondering where everyone stands on the head nod. Do you like it? Do you not like it?

PS - I know in America they have a hand gesture that can be made, which is the equivalent on the the head nod, but as we're ride on the other side of the road the hand gesture can't be done.

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Head nod or hand wave - all's good. (y) 😎
Personally, I love it. Makes you feel part of an exclusive club. And it doesn't matter what bike you're on. All that matters is that you have a bike.

·
Premium Member
818 Posts
Personally, I love it. Makes you feel part of an exclusive club. And it doesn't matter what bike you're on. All that matters is that you have a bike.
Oh it matters what bike you're on! Wait until you meet up with all those HD riders, not all of them but a good share, I've seen comments that BMW riders are similar, not seen that as much as HD riders though.

·
Registered
865 Posts
Unwritten rules are that you don't nod at scooters, or learners (although I'll break that rule if they nod at me first), probably less common in London because there's more bikes so you'd be nodding like the Churchill dog, and the traffics probably too busy.