Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The moral of this thread is do really good research before purchasing something, and don't get all excited and buy the first one you see.

I had an itch to do some mods on my bike. I really like cafes, and I love the vintage fairings even more, so I found a cool fairing but wanted to get the café bar conversion done first. I have worked on various things on cars before, so I'm no stranger to frustration when modding. But this is a whole new level of ******** I didn't expect. What I thought would be a simple 2 hour swap, has turned into torture. I bought the café bar from British Customs. Yes, it's overpriced. From their page it looks like a simple brake extension is needed to get the lever to reach. No biggie. I am new to motorcycles (about 1.5 years), so I don't really know the ins and outs, and I'm sure most experienced people would have analyzed this further and new what really needed to be done.

Oh boy was I wrong. This would be an easy task on a non-abs bike, but since my Street Twin has abs, you can't simply extend the existing line, you have to completely bypass that line and use your own. It's not a simple swap out. And to make it even more exciting, accessing the ABS unit is a gigantic PITA. I have torn so many parts off my bike, I may start dissembling the engine tomorrow just to really give myself a challenge. I managed to break the nozzle on the overflow tank and spilled all the coolant out on the floor. I have smashed my forearm twice in the same spot due to my hex wrench slipping when trying to break loose the abs unit from it's mount. I have bent my fingernail back twice and had to stop working on the bike today because it wouldn't stop bleeding.