Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

Have you had a gear selector problem?

• Yes, and I have a Street Twin/Cup that was NOT dropped.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, and I have a Bobber that was dropped.

• Yes, and I have a Bobber that was NOT dropped.

• Yes, and I have a Thruxton that was dropped.

• Yes, and I have a Thruxton that was NOT dropped.

• Yes, and I have a Speed Twin that was dropped.

• Yes, and I have a Speedmaster that was dropped.

• Yes, and I have a T100 that was dropped

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3,418 Posts
Early 2016 T120, not dropped, stopped downshifting at about 6500 miles. The dealer fixed it under warranty by replacing the shifter shaft (only) and everything attached to it. The techs could find no damage to or problem with the original assembly.

I'm in the habit of shifting into first gear before traffic lights change, and then checking that the bike is in first by gently pressing the shift lever again. Before the bike stopped downshifting, for a few weeks the shift lever could be moved downward with the bike already in first gear. It seems to have been an interesting early symptom of impending shifter failure.

·
Premium Member
434 Posts
2018 T120 with 20K miles and no issues. However, no drops either but it has been ridden in lots of 110+ degree heat. My transmission is probably the smoothest shifting of all bikes I have owned over the last 40 years.

·
Registered
3,418 Posts
Here's a thread on shifter damage. See page three for a pic by Simon64ds of the spacer he made that fits between the shift pedal and the left engine case. It prevents transverse movement of the shifter shaft if the bike is dropped. I have the same spacer on my T120. It's the black ring in the photo. It's really easy to install. Remove the shift pedal bolt and the pedal. Slide on the ring, and reinstall the pedal.

9-D4-DA400-CE11-4-BA2-BB52-8-ADA519-BD7-C1.jpg

·
Registered
T120 Cinder Red 2016
205 Posts