Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
616 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can't believe I've been riding for 20 years and I've never removed a wheel from a motorcycle.

So I have a pair of stands -- Vortex in back, Pit Bull up front. That part seems easy enough.

Any pointers? I have the Service Manual, so I know all the torque specs I'll need. Any recommendations regarding tools, etc.?

Really, any advice at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

·
30,525 Posts
This is one of the easiest front wheels I have removed. I don't know anything about your stands, so i can't comment there. I use centerstand, and a scissor jack and block of wood under the front of the frame.

Basically, remove front brake caliper first, suspend it with a piece of string or something so that you don't stress the brake line.

Then slacken off and remove the main nut, then slacken the pinch bolt on the right hand fork leg. Support the wheel - push the spindle out and out it comes!

When you put the wheel back in, there is no solid stop against the right side fork, so slide the spindle through the wheel, and tighten the main nut up. Replace the brake caliper - do not do the pinch bolt yet.

Put the bike back on its wheels, grab the front brake and pump the suspension a few times to seat the right fork properly, then tighten the pinch bolt.

And there you have it, you should be just fine.

As for tools - nothing special required really.

·
Premium Member
164 Posts