Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 116 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greeting all, Newbie here. I just picked up a 1997 595T, I supposedly has a 2002 955i motor. I do know it has a Jardine muffler that could possibly be a full exhaust system.
Apparently the PO needed to cut up the belly faring and the left side lower to clear the later model cases. I'm trying to find out what year fairings will work with a '97 frame and an'02 motor. The main fairing is in good shape and I would like to hang onto it but if it won't work with later model lowers then I'll have to replace it as well.

When the PO did the motor swap he also swapped to a 2002 tank. The tank has it's own set of mounting issues but I think I have them figured out.

Thanks
JT

·
Super Moderator
22,106 Posts
.... I do know it has a Jardine muffler that could possibly be a full exhaust system. ..
Doubtful it is full system - most likely slip-on. I don't know of any full system for either first or second gen Triumph FI triples.
Show us some pics and we can help identify what you've got.
Daytona or S3 955 motor?

Early tank will fit but it is a squeeze. Check my sig pic for early tank over the 02+ motor/airbox. The early tank also has compatibility issues with the fuellevel sender however, but I have work-around for that also.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'll get some pics tomorrow.

During my research I also found out he converted to a 955i dash with a digital speedometer that doesn't work. I was reading about using a GSXR100 pickup. Is this applicable for a 1997 front end with a '02 dash? Worst case I can always use my GPS as a speedo but would really like to make the factory one work.