Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know someone is going to tell me that I should search the site for all this information and I HAVE, but I am curious if I have narrowed down the available choices to what would work best for me.

I recently put about 150 miles on my new Thruxton and I believe I have confirmed my initial belief that the stock fork setup is rubbish. Although I am new to this bike, I have been riding for 8 years and, due to my problematic toy obsession, this is the 6th bike I have owned. I have ridden dozens of others as well. I feel confident enough to know what I like and what I do not.

For my size (6' 175lbs.) and riding style (street only, mildly aggressive, occasionally two-up) I think the best upgrades are race tech emulators and either hagon progressive or ikon springs with the option of a fork brace if desired. Suspension god's, opinions? Pros and cons of this setup? Hagon vs. Ikon? I have been reading a lot of posts that say progressive is BS... What am I missing? What have I not considered? Should I just call Race Tech and do whatever they tell me?

I am planning on installing myself then taking the bike to a local shop for tuning by a pro. Probably the best idea as I don't know much about the actual tuning of suspensions. I have always had it done for me. I know I know... Newbie jerk off... I know...

Also, down the road (i.e. after I get a new exhaust that reminds me that I am not riding a vespa), I am thinking about the Ikon 7614 aluminum shocks. The red spring would look slick with my red Thrux. Reviews on these bad boys? With the front suspension? Is their anything to matching fork spring brand to rear suspension brand? Probably not, but I thought I would ask...