Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2002 1200 with a leaking fork and would like to improve the fork performance when I do the repairs. I'm needing some guidance, with the whole package. Like should I do something with the rear shock at the same time. Thanks everyone, OldKid.

Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

·
Registered
148 Posts
PM member TMod. Terry is a good guy and does a hell of a job upgrading suspension.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
40 Posts
First, I'm a novice. I've done one and only one fork.

I think my fork was in somewhat similar shape to yours when I started. One leg was leaking, and the stuff left on the leg was beading... It was full of water contamination.

When I got the front wheel off it became apparent I had bad fork bushings on one leg. That started a search of parts - eventually ending at the Yamaha dealer where I bought some v-max busings (same 43mm Shawa fork).

Taking the fork apart... Step 1 - I made the tool described in the manual out of a 22mm nut (30mm wrench size), and old socket, and an old short extension.

Ugly Welds, I know.

When I reassembled I used the AllBalls seals. I found them on E-Bay, reasonable priced. Get new dust seals too.

I had some scratched/burned spots in the chrome legs. I wet sanded these out using 1000 grit sad paper. I tried for a cross-hatched pattern like you would when honing a cylinder. It was a last ditch effort to save having to buy a new for leg (or two).

I did not change valving. That may have been a mistake, but it turned out OK.

I did change to 15 weight fork oil. Get two bottles, you'll need about 1-1/2. If you have contaminated fork oil you can flush with kerosene then flush the kerosene with a little new fork oil.

So far I have no leaks. I was worried based on the scratches I had to sand out.

Good luck. Let us know how it turns out.

A few photos, just for your entertainment: