Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Minor but still leaves you stuck and stranded.

Clutch cable. The little nub that goes into the handle broke on my ride today. It seems my clutch always was tough to pull. I thought it would free itself swine after 1k miles. Why would it be tough to pull? Pinched?

Is it hard to replace the whole cable? And who's a good supplier?

·
Registered
2,919 Posts
Hi Chief, I can most strongly recommend Barnett clutch cable. They have steel crimped ends which so far have proven to be the strongest I've found. Stronger than original Triumph, Venhill, or possible the worst is Emgo.

I had several cables break on me, so I have some experience & know what you are up against.

When adjusting your pressure plate springs don't go deeper than top of head flush with stud. To adjust for wobble, back off adjuster. If you must go tighter on one of them don't go more than 1/2 turn deeper. At full lever pull the springs are nearly coil bound so we don't want to go too deep on adjusters.

Barnett lubed with any of the cable lubes or just motor oil or trans oil the cable friction is as good as Venhill. Personally I found Venhill to be quite good at first, but then Teflon liner starting wearing, then the end pulled off at the clutch lever end. Finally to solve all I went to a genuine Norman Hyde 7 plate clutch. Just 7 friction & 1 extra steel. No need to use special pressure plate, just reuse the normal steel one. Then you can use 500cc springs & the lever effort is much easier & no slip.