Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So if I were to cut a piece of aluminum stock (1/8" thick 6061) how would I go about getting it to look like the aluminum bits on the bike already?? Would I need to paint, and clearcoat? Powdercoat? Will bare aluminum rust if exposed to the elements? Metal experts I need your sage like advice here. Keep in mind I am a cheap bastard.

cheers, jason

·
Registered
669 Posts
You'd need to dress (grind, buff, sandpaper, etc.) the finish to look like whatever finish you're trying to copy. Yes, aluminum will oxidize so you'll need to clearcoat the piece(s).

·
Registered
572 Posts
I'm no expert but I have been working with metal all my life and I also am cheap. Aluminium does not rust but it can corrode when it does it gets a chalky look to it. Factory finishes are usually brushed you can achieve this by sanding it smooth and using scotchbrite to get uniform scratches in the surface. This is very time consuming and very tedious work. When you get the desired look you should clear coat it or get clear powder coat or anodising to protect it. You can polish it to a mirror finish by taking emory paper and wet sanding. I usually use 220, 400, 600, 800, 1000, 1500 and 2000 grit papers in that order. Then get some Mother's polish and buff the heck out of it. I would recommend a clear powder coat on that also to keep it nice. It's alot of work either way but if you like doing it yourself it can be rewarding. I can go into more detail if you wish.

[ This message was edited by: meanchuck on 2007-01-09 07:51 ]

·
Registered
572 Posts