Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I really want to put new exhaust on my Thrux but I am concerned about issues passing State Inspection. Will I have any problems passing inspection if I put Preds, Norman and Hyde Peashooters, or EPCO exhaust on my thrux? If so, are there any aftermarket exhaust systems that are better than others for passing inspection. I live in Massachusetts by the way, if anyone has experience there. I am kind of new to bikes so sorry if this is a dumb question.

·
Registered
832 Posts
Ask your inspection station (if a privately own place) if they will fail you. Most places are cool... but better to ask before you drop the doe. Also go to HD dealerships... they normally dont care.

·
Registered
118 Posts
As a fellow masshole I can tell you that you will be fine. I have one of the setups that you mentioned and they don't give it a second look. In mass it's more about safety than emmisions and noise. They will give you a hard time for the following, no chaingard, no horn, no liscense plate illumination. This year I am determined to pass I just need to dig up all my scrapped parts.

·
Registered
82 Posts
With slip ons, couldn't you always just put your stock back on long enough to go get it tested?

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
05 Thrux, that is good to know thanks.

I guess I could always put the original back on for inspection, but I am kind of new to bikes so I will have to see how difficult it is going to be for me to do work on the bike myself. I am planning on doing most of my own work, but like I said not too much experience so I don;t want to take on tasks that I will not be able to complete.

·
Registered
141 Posts