Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Currently working on a 1998 daytona 955, everything that could go wrong with this bike has. Right now ive got myself a broken exhaust camshaft and found a craigslist post for a 2000 sprint 955 complete engine for sale. Will the sprint engine fit in the '98 properly?? From what I can tell by photos the 2 engins look exactaly the same, any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank u so much, I have ripped out almost all of my hair trying to find an answer to this question all day, even the triumph dealerships in florida had absolutely no clue. About running the different map, I am very mechanically inclined when it comes to bikes and cars, but electrically, im completely in the dark (doesnt make a whole lot of sense seeing as how im a journeyman electrician, lol) how do I go about the re-mapping and tuning? Is there a special plug I need to buy to hook the brain box up to a computer?

·
Registered
7,502 Posts
Go to the ECU tuning subforum and read about TuneECU. It's freeware that allows you to run diagnostics, tests and to alter your mapping or to load a different map. You will need an OBD II cable to hook up your bike to a laptop with the downloaded TuneECU program. You can purchase the cable on Ebay. It's all explained in the TuneECU thread.

Check out this thread and scroll down to view a video of TuneECU. http://www.triumphrat.net/daytona-deliberations/221271-so-i-just-bought-it-but-how-to-remap.html

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5