Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! Long time no post... I hadn't been able to ride my speed four for a couple of months and when I tried to start her up today the battery didn't have enough juice to start her up. I used a battery charger to jump start it. I noticed the little engine light on the display is glowing bright orange now. Should I be worried? I took a short ride to see if it would go off but it didn't. I got afraid that I might damage the bike so I took her back home. I'm new to riding and not sure what that light really means. Please advise me on what I should do. I really want to go for a ride!

Thanks in advance for any help.

jeff

·
Registered
20 Posts
its perfectly normal, if youve drained or disconnected the battery the light will come on. It should go off after 3 full heat cycles. ( cold ,to fan on, to cold = 1 heat cycle).

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! I was hoping someone would say that... appreciate the help.

Ride safe!

j

·
Premium Member
2,522 Posts
its perfectly normal, if youve drained or disconnected the battery the light will come on. It should go off after 3 full heat cycles. ( cold ,to fan on, to cold = 1 heat cycle).
This is slightly erroneous. If the battery is run dead, the MIL will light. However, if the battery is charged and the leads are disconnected while the ignition is off, the MIL should not light (although it will reset the trip odometers and clock). Also, a heat cycle is not what is stated, but is found here: Heat Cycle

·
Registered
20 Posts