Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 408 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Eli here. 37yo brit based in France and classic car fan (bought my first tr6 15yo, was a bit of a dog but great memories). I've got a 1970 land rover 109 (with the 2.6 straight six) and a 1956 triumph tr3. This year I've done a full rewire, rebuilt the carbs, retrimmed the interior and swapped gearboxes on the TR. I'm no mechanic but I'm handy enough.

A friend let me use her van van 125 for the last 2 years and since passing my motorbike licence this summer I've bought a mash 400cc mono. I was dead set on buying the new royal enfield 650cc interceptor but found it way too modern for me. I don't want to go fast, I want to have fun! The mash is perfect but lacking in soul and let's be honest it has zero street cred (mash are a Chinese built French neo retro brand) and could do with a bit more oomph.

I have a 4mi commute on quiet roads and I'm ashamed to admit that I'm only a fair weather rider.

Dream bike is a rickman métisse for looks alone but it will have to wait another lifetime.

I've zeroed in on the t100c as it has exactly the same dimensions and weight as the mash, a bit more power and is just about within my budget. Mild off-road capabilities would be good to have, some nice trails around here.

I've found several bikes for sale but covid means I have to buy untested which is a major stress factor but I don't think travel restrictions here will be lifted anytime soon.

Les Occasions du Hound > Triumph T100 C : Hound Motorcycle

1971 TRIUMPH TROPHY T100C COMPETITION. ORIGINAL CLASSIC. MATCHING NUMBERS | eBay
https://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/202007050893013?modal=description

The third is my current favourite. Tach, indicators and tls brakes will all make for a more usable bike. And it has the most history.