Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I have a relatively new 2019 R.
And like most folks coming from liter bikes, I'm wondering how I can get more power out of it.
I've already had the suspension set up for my weight and it now handles AMAZING.
So power is next.
I'm a complete NEWB when it comes to bikes and ECU tunes.
What do I need to buy?
Where do I get the software?
Do I need a new exhaust system or can I just tune the bike with stock exhaust?
I already have a great tuner near me with a dyno so at least that's taken care of.
Please, make your answers easy for me to digest, remember, NEWB!:smile2:
Thanks all

·
Registered
253 Posts
Well, I have a relatively new 2019 R.
And like most folks coming from liter bikes, I'm wondering how I can get more power out of it.
I've already had the suspension set up for my weight and it now handles AMAZING.
So power is next.
I'm a complete NEWB when it comes to bikes and ECU tunes.
What do I need to buy?
Where do I get the software?
Do I need a new exhaust system or can I just tune the bike with stock exhaust?
I already have a great tuner near me with a dyno so at least that's taken care of.
Please, make your answers easy for me to digest, remember, NEWB!:smile2:
Thanks all

If you want the most power out of your bike you will need to get a full exhaust system, ECU tune and aftermarket air filter.

Aftermarket exhaust system will be lighter and without catalytic converters.

You could get a tune with your stock exhaust system but catalytic converters would be your biggest hindrance.

Having been down this route with other bikes in the past I would say ride the bike as is now before spending $2k on marginal power increase on the top end of the power curve. Maybe just get a slip on exhaust for better sound/look of your bike.