Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
getting ready to give my baby an oil change

the manual says Cstrol semi or full synthetic.

does it really matter if some other brand is used?

a friend uses Silkolene in his coz its often on a special discount price at the local auto store, but I wnat to be sure that I'm not going to blow up the engine or somthing

·
Registered
166 Posts
Anytime oil is brought up on an online forum you'll get a ton of conflicting information. I'm no expert, so take this advice with a grain of salt.

http://www.amazon.com/Castrol-Power1-10W-40-Synthetic-Motorcycle/dp/B008MISDH4/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1463986900&sr=8-11&keywords=castrol+oil

The above oil is what I use. The important thing is to use an oil that meets or exceeds the API SL and JASO MA-2 standards.

Because the oil also lubricates the clutch, you don't want to use regular automobile oil, it won't have the proper additives for a wet clutch.

You can use any brand you like. I use the Castrol because it's the cheapest I could find that meets the spec. That said, it's certainly not cheap.

·
Registered
166 Posts

·
Registered
Thruxton 1200 R , 900 , KTM Duke 390 , Honda NSR 125 , SWM 124
1,830 Posts
I used to use Silkolene because it was manufactured a few miles from where I then lived now its owned ( I think ) by a German company and I have some of their cleaning stuff mainly because it was on offer but also it is called " Fuchs Off " . Next oil going in my Thruxton is Castrol Power 1 .

·
Registered
166 Posts
Didn't notice you weren't in the United States. Ignore my link to the Castrol Power RS, it's US only. The Castrol Power 1 mentioned above is what you'll find in your part of the world.