Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, just out of interest, now that we are all getting a bit older and a bit more sensible, does anyone still enjoy pulling a good wheelie???

·
Registered
285 Posts
Hi All, just out of interest, now that we are all getting a bit older and a bit more sensible, does anyone still enjoy pulling a good wheelie???
I'm not old :mad: 28 :)

And I'm no wheelie expert but every now and then I rip the throttle from a traffic light so the wheel is about 10-15cm of the ground. :cool:

·
Registered
185 Posts
It's said that nothing wheelies better, nothing wheelies easier than a Speed Triple. Of course I like to lift the front wheel off the ground. A controlled wheelie feels too good to pass up on it.
While I'm just getting the hang of clutch wheelies in 2nd, I tend to wheelie more in 1st. Roll on until ~4000RPM, close throttle and immediately twist it back open. Front wheel will "come off the ground as surely as a sunrise". Careful though, the front wheel rises quickly to about half past 10 ;) One wrong movement of your wrist at that height and torque and you'll flip.

·
Registered
58 Posts
With Speed Triple I really enjoy power wheelies on 1st but it doesn't have enough power to do it on 2nd. Okay, when I move my body back in the seat it happened sometimes but .... S3 isn't the best wheelie machine. You need to use clutch on 2nd.

Anyone tried Streetfighter ? Almost every time exiting the corner on 2nd, giving full throttle and .... whoooooo I can see only the sky :) very nice. I'm not big Streetfighter fan because it's riding position is a pain for me but it's real wheelie monster.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Anyone tried Streetfighter ? Almost every time exiting the corner on 2nd, giving full throttle and .... whoooooo I can see only the sky :) very nice. I'm not big Streetfighter fan because it's riding position is a pain for me but it's real wheelie monster.