Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

i'm a realtive newb to biking and my daytona so i thought id try some advice from the experts!
Ive just got my bike out after it was on my oxford battery exerciser(8weeks or so). It started first time but the engine warning light is on permanent! Any suggestions before i get it too my dealer. I was about to takl it out for a spin as i have a dry road( not common in the NW england) to get some oil and chain cleaner for over the winter.

regards...Andy

·
Premium Member
1,732 Posts
Hello Andy,

The light could be any number of things. If the bike is running OK when you start it, it probably is something minor. Try starting the bike about four times, each time turning it off by the key, not the kill switch, in between starts.

3 or 4 cycles will clear minor lights if there is nothing major wrong. If the light doesn't go away, and you don't have TuneBoy software that you can hook up to the bike to diagnose the source of the warning light, I would get it to the dealer straight away to be sure that it isn't something serious.

One of the common problems with the Daytona 675 is the Exup Valve being out of adjustment (it is a valve in the exhaust that controls back pressure in the exhaust and increases low rpm torque). My guess is that is the problem, but it could also be many other things.

Good luck with the fix. Post up and let us know what it was.

Welcome to 675 Ownership and our Triumph Community here on TriumphRAT.net!

Jeff

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the prompt reply! I will give it a go and report back, got the same advice from my local dealer, hopefully i will give it a run later today as soon as the current Mrs Andykb arrives home. If it doesnt clear ill get it booked in and report back....cheers...Andy

·
Registered
5 Posts