Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I am new to riding as well as working on my bike :smile2:
I have a 05 Bonneville and it started giving me some trouble.
It runs for about 15 minutes, then I lose all throttle and eventually it dies...

The first time it happens I took the carbs off and cleaned them, which was not the issue since they were quite clean, checked the air filter and then for air leaks.
I started walking thought all the fault finding stops in my book but after a month and a half the only issues I fixed were the ones I caused from being so new :smile2:

So everything I am reading points to 3 things, an air leak? CPS sensor? Or the Igniter...

I checked the resistance on the CPS sensor and it was in spec. When i took the carbs off I replaced the gaskets and rubber connectors so I don’t think its an air leak.. Which leads me to think it might be the igniter?

Any help on this would be great! Thank you

·
Premium Member
1,352 Posts
How does it run once on the road? If the stalling only occurs at idle, first check the idle. You've come to the right place, someone will shortly be able to help on the electrics, but the ignitors rarely cause issues, unless you're quite heavy and the seat is pressing down on it. Check both the seat and ignitor for abrasion marks. If so, carve out a hole in the seat pan.

Good Luck -

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
After fowling @LapinAgile 's advice check the other components. Often the CPS will check good when cool and fail after it warms up. You have to be quick and check it when it fails (open circuit). It may check good again after it cools a few minutes. The ignition coils can be checked with an ohm meter also.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Hi
If the engine suddenly stops when riding and I do mean as if the ignition has been turned of, it probably is the CPS.