Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been riding for several years now, and this question has always lingered in the back of my mind. Instead of pushing to turn, I will pull on the opposite handle instead. For instance, instead of pushing left to turn left, i will pull right to turn left. Can this have implications on any sort of emergency response, or hold any sort of adverse effect? I don't know why I do it, it's just what I've always been comfortable with. Anyone else corner like this? I'm wondering if I should really force myself to break the habit, or if it's six or one half dozen the other. Thanks for the input, and putting up with my odd question! Cheers!

·
Registered
1,881 Posts
I don't think it's a bad habit, can't see it makes much difference if you're pulling on one side of the bars or pushing on the other, whatever you feel comfortable with. I know for hazard avoidance or other situations where you need a fast change of direction some people advocate doing both.

Pushing on the inside bar has always felt more comfortable to me because everything is then focused on the direction I'm trying to turn, move my upper body to the left, turn my head to the left and push on the left bar.
Also coming from a sports bike background were you could be hanging off the bike more with your upper body, you're outside arm will be stretched out across the tank so if you needed to Tighten your line mid corner it would be easier pushing with your inside arm.

The other reason for me is that when I first passed my test I rode with my hands gripping the bars and I found my arms could tense up and grab the bars tight if I was worried i was approaching a corner too fast or something, this would actually stop me countersteering and make the situation worse.