Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new to triumph. I posted a while back about the conversion of a 2003 Daytona to a Speed Triple and I just bought the bike. There are a few things I'd like to do with it, and I may start with the clipons. Will a 2006 Tiger upper triple fit the 2003 Daytona?

·
Premium Member
2,403 Posts
That's a tough question...

On the 2003 Daytona, there were two options for upper clamps, depending on your VIN. Whether or not the one on the Tiger will fit on either, or both is beyond me and to be honest, I'm not sure it would be worth the hassle to find out. Also, if you do buy the Tiger clamp, you'll have some rather ugly holes sticking through the top of it where the bars once were. If your intent was to use the bars, that's not going to work. The Front Fairing will interfere with the bars, to the point where I would consider it dangerous....

If you can buy the part with the option to return, then you might wanna give it a shot. Otherwise, I'd say "pass" until you can get something that you know will work.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Daytona i bought was wrecked, so it's naked now. I want to convert it to a speed triple, get rid of the clip ons, and add a bar, which is why i'm looking for a new upper triple. I've heard the speed triple upper triple will work, but i don't see many of them available, but i've found an upper triple for a 2006 tiger 955. I have no front fairing on the bike anymore.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
also just noticed something odd compared to my other bike...the daytona will let me try to start it while in gear, clutch pulled in, and kickstand down, but won't kick over till i either put it in neutral or pull up the stand. my other bike won't let me even try to start it with the stand down and in gear.

·