Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I thought that while I was tending to the leak at my head I would fix the gear oil leak too. This is my first time BTW digging into this motor and I try to follow the FSM the whole way.

I pulled my clutch, primary chain and stator as the FSM instructed, the problem is that when I pulled the Clutch Centre, the puller that I got that looks just like the one in the manual rammed the clutch operating rod straight into the clutch operating mechanism and snapped it like a cracker. No big deal, I can replace the clutch lever (as the FSM calls it, 20 in the picture below) but I'm having a bugger of a time trying to get the clutch operating rod to come out (number 35 in the pic below). Guessing it's slightly bent. Should it just slide right out?

I always learn by trial and error. How do you avoid this mishap? Didn't see anything in the FSM about releasing or moving the rod when pulling the clutch.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Well I got the rod out and just as I knew it would be, it's bent to hell. If I could get one of you guys to measure yours I can just make a new one instead of having to buy it. Now to just find a replacement operating mechanism.

Went on ebay and ordered a new rod, operating mechanism and bushing. Nice little $60 mistake!

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Good part about making mistakes is it makes you learn your motor better.

Like I mentioned before, this is my first time tearing into the motor. When I initially pulled the clutch, I thought "probably need to pull this rod out". Well I tried and it wouldn't budge, so since it wasn't mentioned in the FSM, I left it in and of course screwed it up. What I found out later was that the other end was really badly mushroomed and so it wouldn't pull out from the clutch basket side.