Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still fairly new to this motorcycle and Brit bikes in general so if this is a dumb question let me know.

Short backstory, I bought the bike, a 1976 Bonneville a little over a year ago. It wasn't running. I've gone through it, replaced worn bits and got it up and running. Recently had the breather tube come off at the "T" just below the battery, sprayed lots of oil and generally made a mess. I noticed it by the low oil pressure light coming on at higher and higher RPMs. I filled it back up with what was in the garage, 10W30 dino. A week later the clutch stuck. No amount of coaxing would free it. I took it apart, some of the discs were really stuck together. Here's the thing, looking at the parts book I see 6 friction and 6 steel discs. Mine had 5 of each. They filled the basket, meaning you couldn't add another of each and still have them engage. I've researched the oil/clutch relationship, I'll go with a 20W50 now but why am I only seeing a 5 disc pack in there?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
Your most important issue is the oil pressure...…..you need to strap on a gauge and check it. How you describe it, it sounds very serious, why would your oil pressure light come on at higher revs? Usually it goes out at higher revs [in a standard bike it should go out after you kick it or start it]?

The clutch sounds suss as well, for a standard clutch 6 is the magic number. Some photo's of the setup would be helpful.

·
Registered
2,588 Posts
I agree - the oil light thing is suspect - pressure guage is the way to go

but could be a faulty oil pressure switch or the wire to the switch "earthing" out to the frame from damaged outer cover ?

just to be clear - the oil light should come on with the ignition and go out either during kickstarting or immediatly the engine starts - it should then be off while the engine runs at all speeds