Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been riding an 09 street triple for 10 years until it was stolen at the airport. Bought a new Speed Triple S six weeks ago and after the first service I started to give it a twist.

At first I thought the traction control was cutting in to keep the front wheel grounded... but when a Toyota Prius took off in front of me at the lights I turned all that fancy gear off and realised that the gears were not transferring all that engine noise to the rear wheel because the clutch is slipping.

Brand new bike... this should not be happening.

Gaz

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I’m an architect with soft delicate hands made for etchings.... I might put air in the tyres.
The only other people who touch my bikes work at the Triumph dealership, so I hope they used the oil I paid for.

Car oil or any anti-friction additive in?

·
Registered
495 Posts
This may be as simple as needing the clutch to be adjusted.
Yes, check the adjustment at the clutch lever, it will show you how in the manual, it's quite simple even for delicate hands:laugh2:
Although really speaking this should have been checked at the service.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Haha... Yeah, I suppose it could have been be that easy on the face of it, but its a new bike. I don't want to void the warranty.... Initially, I tried twisting the notched thingy near the lever. It was really tight (possibly the cause of the problem) and I didn't want to force it. I managed to twist the human intervention dial thingy to number 4... But it yielded no benefit.