Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I'm new to this stuff, and I just want to say Thanks to everyone on here for helping me get the confidence and know-how to start turning wrenches and whatnot.
I took my primary apart and realized that my clutch was pretty much shot. So I completely disassembled and am in the process of rebuilding.
I took apart the clutch center and it seems the previous owner may have changed a few things. The small holes in the clutch center are not threaded, only the outer cover contained threads through which three bolts passed all the way from the inner plate .Said bolt was then peaned at the outer cover to hold it in place, i assume. My parts book shows a bolt from each cover towards the center. Also, other pics ive seen have a flathead countersunk screw from each side. When I removed the bolt, the peaned end stripped the threads in the cover. If anyone can set me straight, I'd appreciate it. I think I could use a new center anyway as this one is showing some wear and I already replaced pretty much everything else in there. But, I'd just like to know how it SHOULD be fastened together.Also, what's up with the rubbers in there? My new ones seem to almost be impossible to install.thanks in advance, and i hope this makes sense to someone.oh ya, it's a 76 t140v.

·
Registered
1,848 Posts
While you've got it apart, take some pics of the inside surfaces of both the front and back cover plates on the clutch hub. If those are scored, you'll new ones of those, too.

My clutch hub on my 500 was shot. After an hour of searching through the used bins at the shop for non-screwed pieces, I opted for a whole new clutch hub.

Take your time and you'll be fine.

here's a picture of my first clutch job... :D :D

I get frustrated easily. :D

·
Registered
162 Posts