Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
any suggestions for cleaning the 09 R?
damp cloth and dust brush?
i can't imagine spraying anything on the finish that wouldn't mottle it.

thanks.

·
Registered
79 Posts
I'd guess you wash it as you would wash gloss, just don't apply pollish unless you want a shine :) I've had no problems with the matt paint on the KTM.

·
Registered
445 Posts
I've pondered this myself many a night. I have an 08 S3 in matt. The dealer suggested windex which I thoight was a daft idea. I have been using Mequiars Quik Detailer for the last 4 months. It seems to do the trick. I am open to suggestions myself.

·
Premium Member
4,788 Posts
I have an 08 S3 in matt. The dealer suggested windex which I thought was a daft idea.
Actually, you might be surprised. Many dealers use the non-ammonia version of Windex for quick detailing.

I have no experience with it on matt finishes myself, but it is a decent cleaner on regular paint, metal, plastic, etc.

·
Registered
973 Posts
As far as i know the matte finish is product of the clearcoat. That is i believe the clearcoat is providing the matte look. Dare i say it. HD has lots of matte finishes. I would maybe ask a HD dealership what they use.

·
Registered
30 Posts
I'm off with a mate to a Harley dealer tomorrow ( he's collecting some new springs ) on my way to my friendly Triumph dealer. Whilst I'm there I may as well ask if they have any recommendations for matt finishes. At least that will give me something to do whilst I am waiting. Will let you know if they have any suggestions - just don't hold your breath, they seem pretty useless in that shop so I'd be surprised if they could help, other than by selling me a HD and let's be honest that's not really HELPING is it ? :D

·
Registered
30 Posts