Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry Im a bit new to my triple and her maintenance. I was curious when checking the chain free movement adjustment as the manual calls for where and how do I take measurement? The book seems to be a little vague and I just want to make sure I am doing it correctly.

Also the book calls for the range for vertical movement to be .051 -1.25 inch..If I am doing it correctly mine is more like 4"...Just had my rear tire patched, maybe the mechanic didn't make the adjustment?

·
Premium Member
252 Posts
The Owner's Manual says to check halfway between the two sprockets with the bike on the sidestand and no weight (luggage, etc) on the bike.

4 inches sounds dangerously loose to me:eek:

·
Registered
658 Posts
With that much slack, the chain probably is hitting the swingarm and could even fall off the sprokets. If you lift up on the bottom run of the chain between the sprockets, you should not be able to push it up against the swing arm. Fix it now but not too tight. Best is about 1 inch free play up and down ( chain centerline movement) on the side stand in neutral no rider. Flop it up and down with your fingers without pushing either way real hard and total difference between full up and full down is the measurement. Also roll it around until you get the tightest spot (if there is one) and set the chain tension at that tightest spot. I had mine set at the 1/2 inch minimum and it seemed too tight. 3/4 inch to 1 1/4 inch feels ideal. You want the suspension to move freely without being restricte by the chain and you don't want too much extra pressure on the tranny sprocket.

·
Registered
1,843 Posts