Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've just spoken to Bub Enterprises about their 2-2 Bonneville system (headers, conti-style cans) and they have agreed to let me take an unfinished set because I don't like chrome and want black.

Should I powder coat them or ceramic coat them? Does anyone know the differences?

·
Registered
959 Posts
Should I powder coat them or ceramic coat them? Does anyone know the differences?

I do not think powder coating and ceramic are the same thing. Ceramic is a very durable coating in the racing/aircraft business. Powder coat is for things that do not take much heat, IE: wheels, engine covers etc. I work in the mechanical business and powder coat is for low heat applications. Ceramic is for HIGH heat applications. Investigate if some one in your area can Black Chrome for you. PS: The Bub Conti Units are BITCHEN to look at. Good luck in your endeavors. Steve. :cool:
The Norton's are on the rise again. :cool:

·
Registered
781 Posts
I had the head pipes on our Bonneville powder coated. Didn't last long at all. I'd strongly suggest going ceramic from the get go.

-brent

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks, everyone. That's the advice I was looking for. I have several powder coaters in my city, but they look at me like I'm an alien if I start talking about ceramic coating. They swear their product will last on headers, but I'm not so sure I believe them. I've found a place on the Internet that will do ceramic coating, so I'll just ship the whole mess out to get done once the system arrives.

·
Registered
774 Posts