Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here. I hope this is the right forum for my problem which is on my newly acquired T140 V 1979 US spec Bonneville. First Brit bike I've owned and while I can spanner my Jap 2 strokes I am struggling with the old Triumph . So the bikes previous owner has has it since early 90's and it used to run fine. It has been laid up for probably 8 years and he told me it won't kick over because of an "oil lock" caused, I assume, by some of the oil from the oif tank getting into the sump. Initial research has resulted in my removing the rhs outer cover to look at the quadrant, spring, pinion etc, and they look ok. I wonder about the clutch as the action is heavy as, and the bike won't go into gear so far. I'd like to turn the crank to make sure the engine isn't seized, so what is the easiest way to do this? By the way I drained the sump and there was lots of oil but the kicker still wont move. Why would a stuck clutch stop the kicker from turning the engine if it's in neutral and can flreewheel? Do I need to take the clutch apart to clean it? I can see that this will be the first of many many questions in my quest to get the bike running.

Thanks in advance for any guidance you guys can offer.

Lee

·
Registered
95 Posts
Hi, sort of posted in the wrong place, this page is for the Hinkley 'modern' bonnies, try the 'classic, vintage and veteran' on this forum, or here Classic Bike Forum - Index page . Are the clutch plates stuck? I will pull the clutch in and kick over my old brit bikes until the clutch if free, if they have been stood for a bit. Old brit bikes are odd, even the unit construction engines, like a '79 bonnie, have engine oil, gear box oil and primary drive oil, which are all separate! Don't put the wrong stuff in your primary or your clutch will just slip. Try draining all 3 to see the condition.

·
Registered
1,190 Posts