Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,047 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was watching this Valentino Rossi race tutorial and I was following along with no problems until he said, "You have to get the front tire to turn at a slower speed than the rear tire" (or the other way around - I forget).

Now unless one locks up one of the brakes, is doing a burnout or some other similar maneuver/stunt, how in the heck can you have one wheel spinning slower or faster than the other while riding.......much less at 100mph+?

I've been riding for over 25 years and thought I knew how to ride. I guess it's time for a refresher!!

http://www.ebike-ridingtips.co.uk/video/mediaplayer.swf?file=rossi.flv

·
Registered
82 Posts
Though I'm not very smart about such things, I'll take a stab:

Would it be from the front wheel taking a narrower arc than the rear wheel around a corner?

·
Registered
1,587 Posts
It's a bit like when you rode a bike as a kid. In pre BMX days the tires were a little slicker so it was easier. To impress a pre-teen girl when you were a pre-teen boy you would ride up to her and her friends on your Mustang or Raleigh Chopper, lock the rear wheel, lose traction and with a little body weight shifting you could stop sideways with a flourish.
What happens in racing is that when you are entering a tight corner you slow up the back wheel a bit which loses some ( but not all !!!) traction, do the body weight bit which makes the back of the bike slide around and point in the direction that you want to go. When you are pointed in the right direction you let the 200 horses loose and head off where you want to go.
Nicky Hayden is very good at it being an old dirt tracker when he was young.
Make sense?

·
Registered
617 Posts