Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bike noob here, thinking of pulling the trigger on an "executive demo" 2019 Street Triple R with 1300 miles.
Question: Went to see the bike in the showroom, and when I asked them to turn the engine on, they tried to but couldn't because the battery was dead. Is this a massive red flag? The guy told me it was because people in the showroom had turned the key a lot of times to see the digital screen and this caused the battery to die

·
Registered
15 Posts
So the dealer didn't try to switch out the battery or do a quick charge on the spot?

That does seem odd. That wouldn't be a fatal red flag in my mind, but it would make me ask questions. Of course they have to prove it runs before going any further with the sale.

·
Registered
24 Posts
not a great cause for concern if you ask me. Ask them to charge the battery and try again :)

If you have any concerns about the battery itself I guess you could try angling for them to swap it!

·
Super Moderator
4,725 Posts
The reason I suggest a new battery is that as a demo I guarantee the battery has been drained many many times. Every dealer I worked for went through that. Every time the battery gets drained it reduces its capacity and life expectancy. If you’re buying it the the least they could do is give you a new battery n

·
Registered
60 Posts
OP, if it makes you feel any better, I recently purchased a brand new R (non-demo). It too would not start at the dealership. They tried jumping it, and it still wouldn't start. The owner then took executive action and replaced the battery.

These sales representatives probably turn on the info screen multiple times a day for months. It makes sense that the battery isn't solid.