Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Bike of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am brand new at this. i am looking at a 2008 america with 300 miles for $6000. he paid $8400 last year. the new 2009's are about $9200. this will be my first bike and i really like it. is $6000 a fair price? any other thoughts or opinions on this model are greatly appreciated.

ray in omaha

·
30,533 Posts
The america is a great bike, and would make a good choice for a first bike in my opinion. I am not well up on used values at the moment, but when looking at it ask about any upgrades / modifications and accessories it might have, that all plays into it. Also, check over service history and wear and tear.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Kelley Blue Book says the 08 Speedmaster is worth $6995, it does not have info on the America but the bikes are almost idenical, I think the Speedmaster MSRP is 100 to $200 more than the America. With only 300 miles the bike is not even broke in, if it has no flaws and is still under warranty I would say its a great buy.

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
It sure is a good price, granted nothing is wrong with it.
He sure didn't have a chance over the winter to ride it much.
He must need money or he lost interest?

·
30,533 Posts
Duh! I completely overlooked the fact that it only has 300 miles! :eek:

That's good - no wear and tear at all!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Buying a 2008 America - Need Advice

the bike is stock. it has been in a heated storage. with only 300 miles it still has about 15 months warranty on it. it really is no different than a demo/floor model from the dealer. weird that kbb and nada have no values for the 08 america? they have them for all the other models.

any other input from other america owners is appreciated. thanx again!

ray

·
30,533 Posts