Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been a member sinse 05 and I've been browseing for information when I need it every sense. I appreciate all the great information and I apoligize that I have not posted till now. I usually manage to get by but this time Im going to need help.
I have a 05 speedmaster of my own. But at the moment I'm working on a 03 Americia for my little brother. And as I'm putting it together. I can not get any pedal on the rear brake. I've refilled the Resevoir over ten times. I'm not getting any more air out of the bleeder. And the pedal still goes straight down and bottoms out.
There is no leaks, No lost fluild and its not taking in air. So to keep a long story short. I'm looking for a second opinion. Do I need to replace the piston kit inside the master cylinder? Does anybody have experiance with this?

Thank you,
Mathew Watts

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
It could be that the m/c piston seal is stuffed, going on what you said that would be my opinion?

Try taking the caliper off [don't disconnect the hose though] and turning and twisting it around then put it back on and see if you get any air, they sometimes trap air in them.

Also try posting in the metric twin forum part?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Fist off I apoligize GrandPaulZ. For placing this post in the wrong forum. Thanks for relocating it. Hopefully it will help another person someday.
As far as my brake issues. I got that one solved. This bike was reassembled by me. After the previous owner disassembled it to get some parts chromed and do some impact repairs. So The master cylinder, Ridgid lines, rubber brake line, and caliper were all bone dry when I started.